Sports & Games

Top 5 Captains with Most Wins in the History of IPL


<strong>Top 5 Captains with Most Wins in the History of IPL</strong>

Share this article
mahendra singh dhoni gafd711c4f 1280

The success of an IPL team primarily depends on a captain’s performance. Though there are other influencing factors, the performance of the captain plays a leading role. If you want to stay updated on the latest cricket news, you should first analyze the performance of the captain. Over time, we witnessed the outstanding wins of some of the topmost captains that lead to the success of a particular team. Now let’s get the details of the top 5 captains with the highest wins in the history of the IPL:

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni:

Undoubtedly, MS Dhoni is the finest captain when it comes to exploring and assessing the players’ performance and consistency. He has played a total of 181 matches and won 110 of them. His winning percentage is 60.77%. In 2008, he was selected by the Chennai Super Kings as the first choice for the IPL, and was awarded a record price of INR 7 Crores.

Dhoni assisted the Chennai Super Kings to secure titles in 2010, 2011, and 2018 with an unbeatable record. Essentially, MS Dhoni has guided the Chennai Super Kings to 3 IPL titles and a Champions League title. It is important to note that he owns the maximum winning percentage in the IPL, the finest winning percentage of IPL matches, and the best winning percentage of all IPL teams.

2. Rohit Sharma:

When it comes to choosing the finest captain in the IPL based on IPL Trophies being won, Rohit Sharma tops the list. He has played a total of 123 matches and won 72 of them. His winning percentage is 58.54%. He was selected as the captain of The Mumbai Indians after the stint of Sachin Tendulkar got over. He led the team like a true leader and won four trophies within seven years. He has scored three centuries in Twenty20 cricket, which is higher than any other Indian batsman. Furthermore, he is the first cricketer to score two successive centuries in the history of the IPL.

3. Gautam Gambhir:

Gautam Gambhir was the captain of the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) from 2011 to 2017. Gambhir played a total of 108 matches and won 61 of them. His winning percentage is 56.48%. During 2012 and 2014, he assisted his team to win the title.In his entire IPL career, Gambhir has played for Delhi Daredevils, as well as The Kolkata Knight Riders. What makes him one of the best captains in IPL history is his aggressive batting style.

When he stayed on as the captain of the KKR team, he assisted the team to obtain a significant position in the IPL. Under his captaincy, the team has won two IPL titles. After MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir was the second captain to be a captain for his teams (KKR and DD for 100+ games in the IPL.

4. David Warner

Recognised as one of the most destructive opening batsmen in all formats, David Warner was the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) when they won their maiden IPL title in 2016. He played a total of 67 matches and won 35 of them. His winning percentage is 52.24%.

He was the second-highest run-scorer when the team won the title. In that edition, he recorded 848 runs and that too at a 151.42 strike rate.  Warner has scored 44 fifties and 4 centuries. Till now, his highest score is 126 runs. During 2017, he demonstrated a decent IPL season and returned powerfully in 2019 with 692 runs in 12 matches. Being the captain in the 2020 IPL edition, Warner elevated Sunrisers Hyderabad’s position to No.3 in the points table.

5. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, one of the best cricketers in the world, has remained an important part of RCB since 2008. Kohli played a total of 132 matches and won 60 of them. His winning percentage is 45.45%. In 2013, he became the full-time captain of the team. But RCB has still not won the IPL title yet. Kohli has not won an IPL Trophy till now as captain of RCB. However, he has already proved his skills as nearly half of the matches he led as captain were victories.

Share with us your favourite IPL captains and the reasons why you love them, even if they were not as successful as the ones mentioned in the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *